top of page

Overnight in Chico, CA

There are so many things to do in the Bay Area, but sometimes it can get a little overwhelming with all of the people and the hustle and bustle of the city life.


If you are looking for a getaway outside of the Bay Area that's affordable, quiet, and relaxing, I highly suggest visiting Chico, CA! For just a 1 night stay, you can totally get your money's worth with all the activities and eats around the area! Below, I would like to share some of my favorite places and restaurants I have visited!


1. The Scenic Drive

The drive from the Bay Area to Chico is about 2.5 hours (without traffic). It might sound daunting at first, but it was actually not bad of a drive at all!

Although I did not stop at any, on the way to Chico you can definitely hit some beautiful hiking trails! One of the places we stopped to have an overview look was at Butte Creek Watershed Overlook (pictured on the right) and it was spectacular!



2. Downtown Chico and Chico State

Downtown Chico is such a quaint and charming town. There's shopping, many restaurants, as well as Chico State College all within walking distance! At night we saw a ballet that was held at Chico State for around $30 per ticket!


3. Restaurants

For Restaurants I highly recommend visiting The Red Tavern (for brunch), La Salles (for brunch), and Christian Michael's (for dinner).

The Red Tavern (left picture): If I lived in Chico, this would be my go-to brunch spot in Chico! I seriously love their mix of New American and International flavors. Some of my favorite dishes were the Short Rib Hash and Croque Madame (pictured). The food was amazing and the service was exceptional!


La Salles (middle picture): If you are staying in Downtown Chico and want to go to a restaurant within walking distance, THIS IS THE SPOT. Not only is this a great restaurant for dinning, but it is also a great spot to have drinks, hang out and play cornhole outdoors! Some of my favorite dishes include: Bavarian Soft Pretzel, Crab Benedict (WITH POTATO CAKES!), and the Southwest Protein Bowl (pictured).


Christian Michael's (right picture): If you're looking for a fancy restaurant that's affordable with wonderful and fresh flavors, you have to try this place! I believe everything I've had here tasted amazing! I seriously had no complaints at all. The vibes are a little more on the fancy side so dress accordingly! Since Valentines Day is approaching I highly suggest to book this place in advance because it may fill up! Here are all the dishes I had and LOVED: Salt & Peppered Calamari, Hoisin Glazed Ahi (pictured), Bacon Wrapped Meatloaf (DROOOL).

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page